Monday Memories: Suite Scarlett

Monday Memories is a weekly feature hosted by Miss Print and the Book Bandit. Just take a photo of a book from your personal library (or a library book that’s significant to you, etc.) and talk about why it matters. Is it your first ever signed book? The first book you reviewed on your blog? Whatever it is, write it up in a Monday Memories post and share it. Just please link back if you decide to join!

mondaymemories

Today for Monday Memories I’m talking about Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson. (This particular book is also special because it has the original hardcover packaging which, though the repackaging has grown on me, remains special. I hope by the time book 3 comes it will have a new package again so I can have three different incarnations on my shelves!)

mmscarlett1 mmscarlettsign

I love this book for a lot of reasons. It has a great heroine with a great family, humor and it’s set in New York. While I didn’t love the male lead in this one–that problem is more than fixed in book two. While everyone else enjoys MJ’s Shades of London books (which I like too), I wait patiently for news of Scarlett 3 because this series has everything I could possibly want.

This book is also special to me because it’s from one of the first book signings I ever attended back in 2009. At that point I had been blogging for two years, I was new to Amazon’s Vine program, new to the book world and new to library school–so many firsts! Another new thing at the time was the NYC Teen Author Festival and I decided to try it out even if that meant going it alone. 2009 was a very special TAF because I got to meet a lot of authors that haven’t done many signings since. This book in particular though was the one that drew me to the event. I”ll probably use the next couple MM posts to talk about other books from that signing.

To join, click the Inlinkz frog below to link up. Then see what everyone else has to say :)

4 thoughts on “Monday Memories: Suite Scarlett

  1. That’s a great story! I haven’t read this one, but I really liked THE NAME OF THE STAR (and of course her Twitter account!), and I have it on my shelf… hmmm…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.