Dim Sum Book Tag

(I saw this tag on Aila’s blog One Way or An Author and thought it looked like a lot of fun so I decided to try it myself. All images below originally appeared in Aila’s post and were created by her but I had to include them because they’re so fun.)

Official tag explanation/origins: The Dim Sum Book Tag is the brainchild of Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @ Reading With Jenna. (Button at the top of this post made by them.) Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.

RULES:

Here are some rules to devour this tag:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  2. Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
  3. Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  4. Food coma
TEA: A BOOK THAT STARTED OFF HOT BUT TURNED COLD QUICKLY

Uprooted by Naomi NovikI was super excited for Uprooted but then it would up being one of my biggest duds for 2015 reads.

CHIU CHOW DUMPLIN: A BOOK THAT FEATURES ELEMENTS OF LAND AND SEA

Passenger by Alexandra BrackenThere could be so many for this–especially this year–but in my heart of hearts the only right answer is Passenger.

RICE NOODLE ROLL: A FAVOURITE MULTI-LAYERED CHARACTER OF YOURS (EG. TRAITS? SKILLS? MORALLY AMBIGUOUS?)

Vicious by V. E. SchwabAnyone from a Victoria Schwab novel but especially Victor Vale from Vicious.

SHRIMP DUMPLING: A BOOK WITH A TRANSPARENT BLURB THAT GIVES THE STORY AWAY

How about any second book in a series?

STEAMPED BBQ PORK BUNS: A BOOK THAT IS FLUFFY ON THE OUTSIDE BUT PACKS A PUNCH OF FLAVOUR (EG. MESSAGE? DEPTH? CONTROVERSY?)

The Truth Commission by Susan JubyI thought The Truth Commission was going to be a light, satirical read but then it wound up being a sucker punch about perception, truth, and family. (In the best possible way.)

CHICKEN FEET: A BOOK WITH DIVIDED OPINIONS

The Devil You Know by Trish DollerI loved The Devil You Know and the way it subverted traditional tropes found in the thriller genre as well as feminism (Doller actually described it as “Come for the thriller, stay for the feminism!”) but I think some people didn’t connect with it enough to appreciate all the layers.

LOTUS-WRAPPED STICKY RICE: A BOOK YOU’VE RECEIVED/GIVEN THAT WAS NICELY PACKAGED

Any book from Nicole! She is a wrapping queen!

EGG CUSTARD TART: A BOOK THAT USES SIMPLE INGREDIENTS AND CLICHES BUT EXECUTES IT PERFECTLY

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick NessThe Rest of Us Just Live Here manages to subvert a lot of cliches from supernatural movies and books while still being delightfully fun and original.

MANGO PUDDING WITH EVAPORATED MILK: ANY BOOK RECOMMENDATION + BEVERAGE/SNACK THAT’S A WINNING COMBINATION

The Moon and More by Sarah DessenI desperately wanted Rolos while reading The Moon and More.

FRIED SESAME BALLS: A BOOK COVER WITH EMBOSSED TEXT/DESIGN YOU JUST LOVE TO RUN YOUR FINGERS OVER

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee AhdiehAt first I was just going to pick Passenger again but then I saw my copy of The Wrath and the Dawn and knew that was the right answer here.

DIM SUM STEAM CART: THE TYPE OF CARRYING BAG YOU USE TO BRING BOOKS AROUND

I have started using tote/shoulder style bags because They are easier on my shoulders. I’ve also started making it a point to carry a bag that can actually hold everything I need instead of five smaller bags. Right now I’m using Fossil’s Sydney Shopper which has the added bonus of being PVC which makes it water-resistant and maintenance free.

I tag:

  1. Nicole @ Nicole’s Novel Reads
  2. Cyra @ Rattle the Pages
  3. Britt @ Please Feed the Bookworm
  4. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight
  5. Erin @ The Hardcover Lover
  6. You!

3 thoughts on “Dim Sum Book Tag

  1. Hahahhaha I’m going to be honest, I got so sick of Dim Sum because my mom kept on bringing me to eat Dim Sum in Chinatown. Chicken feet is pretty good though hahahha.

    I totally agree with The Rest of Us Just Live Here. It was done so well with all of those tropes, it was such a great read!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Dim Sum. And all of these other things, now I am HUNGRY. :) SO. First, I have to laugh about Nicole and the wrapping, because when I was her secret sister, I saw somewhere on Twitter that she LOVED wrapping- so I was like “well, I MUST wrap things for her!” but like… I am the worst? The actual worst wrapper ever. So she is over there with her mad skills, probably wondering if her Secret Sis was 7 bwahha ;)

    So, very good call on Wrath. So pretty. Totally agree with The Rest of Us Just Live Here too! And I am super excited that you liked Passenger, but then simultaneously bummed about Uprooted. But, you can’t win them all- hopefully I will have better luck!

    Also, that tote is PRETTY! Thanks for tagging me, I MUST remember to do this soon- especially so I can find pictures of ALL. THE. FOOD. (I may want to wait until AFTER I have eaten though…)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.