May 2024 Recap or Progress Isn’t Linear

Monthly Reading Recap graphic

Blog Posts:

Read:

  1. A Crown of Ivy and Glass by Claire Legrand (audio) (TBR since 2023)
  2. Foxglove by Adalyn Grace (audio) (TBR since 2023)
  3. Pillow Talk by Stephanie Cooke and Mel Valentine
  4. Mislaid in Parts Half-Known by Seanan McGuire (TBR since 2023)
  5. Bunt! Striking Out on Financial Aid by Ngozi Ukazu and Mad Rupert*
  6. Gender Queer by Maia Kobabe (audio)
  7. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 11 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  8. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 12 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  9. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 13 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  10. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 14 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  11. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 15 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  12. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 16 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  13. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 17 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  14. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 18 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  15. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 19 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  16. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 20 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  17. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 21 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  18. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 22 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  19. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 23 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  20. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 24 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  21. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 25 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  22. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 26 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  23. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 27 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  24. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 28 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  25. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 29 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  26. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 30 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  27. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 31 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  28. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 32 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  29. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 33 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  30. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 34 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  31. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 35 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  32. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 36 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  33. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 37 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  34. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 38 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  35. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 39 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  36. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 40 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  37. Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 41 by Mizuho Kusanagi*
  38. Putting Balloons On a Wall is Not a Book by Michael James Schneider
  39. A Touch of Moonlight by Yaffa S. Santos* (audio) (TBR since Jan. 2024)

Total read: 39 with all the manga!

Project Zero TBR:

TBR at the start of the month: 205
TBR at the end of the month: 201
Owned books at the start of the month: 380
Owned books at the end of month: 366

TBR at the start of 2024: 195
Owned books at the start of 2024: 365

Find more details on @princesschapters‘ Instagram.

Diverse Baseline Challenge:

3 books by BIPOC authors read in the month (minimum 3)(indicated by *)
Find the full challenge details including monthly prompts on Instagram thanks to @bookish.millennial and @themargherita.s.

How My Month Went:

Things are still hard here. Mom is still in the nursing home where she’s been recovering from a severe loss of mobility since the 1st. She is working so so hard to get strong enough to be at home safely. But it’s slow and progress isn’t linear and sometimes I miss her at home so much that it hurts. She’s terrified our dog Bella won’t remember her when she gets home and it’s so hard being away from the place that was always her safe space. Pain management is almost under control but that has had its own pitfalls with medications that do more harm than good. Another patient died in the common area which was extremely traumatic and hard. Most days the staff are very conscientious and kind but sometimes they’re short staffed and everything takes longer. I feel like I’m doing everything I can and I know that is true but it also still feels like there should be a way for me to do more.

Being at work while dealing with all of this is interesting. I think some days it’s a good distraction but some days it’s very hard to not be able to be with my mom as much as possible. Being with Mom feels like I’m letting Bella down because she’s alone at home. Being with Bella feels like I’m letting my mom down because I should be with my mom. I don’t remember the last time I saw anyone in a social setting but where is the time for that?

I have been in a losing battle to connect my not-quite-smart TV to my iPad via HDMI to watch things. I refuse to stream on my tablet and I refuse to pay for more than cable so right now the technology is winning but I will keep trying. With the stunning lack of television and movie options (this is an exagerattion but nothing I want to watch is airing where I can watch it right now) I have been reading more. By which I mean doggedly working my way through Yona of the Dawn which, as you can see above, has accounted for the vast majority of my reading lately. I think by the time I finish I’ll be able to focus enough to read prose again but right now I really appreciate the short installments and fast reads.

I want to do less–I’m tired and no one tell my mom but I think she’s right that I’m not taking care of myself. But also I have to clean the house and make sure Bella’s needs are met while she’s alone most of the day and I’m trying to make sure our terrace is beautiful when Mom does finally come home and then suddenly it’s time to go to bed and wake up and do it all again. I should be using this time to really set up a yoga practice for myself. I should take time to write another novel. I should start querying. But sometimes it takes a lot of effort to remind myself to eat and then the day is over.

Wins for this month: Volume 26 of Yona of the Dawn. I’m still listening to TTPD (and the Anthology) and finding more and more to like. But also might be time to switch to Taylor’s summer album (Lover) soon. The terrace looks beautiful. Bella amazes me with her empathy and intelligence and sense of humor every single day.

Five Below is still my favorite store. I have completely oversold it but I plan to take my mom to one when she’s out of the nursing home so she can see what all the hype is about. There have been many blind box and bag items in my month.

Speaking of blind boxes I ordered a mystery box package from Tokidoki. Way too much money but opening the items was so fun and I have so many fun new figurines now–which led to a relaxing break cleaning my desk at work to make room for everything.

I am a periodic subscriber to Owlcrate and really enjoyed the May box. Some of the fandoms were new to me but I liked all the items and love the details for the book.

Still plugging away at Pokemon Go. Reaching Level 50 (the current highest level) doesn’t mean I’ve caught them all so I have to keep going to be my very best.

You can also see my recap from last month.

3 thoughts on “May 2024 Recap or Progress Isn’t Linear

  1. A one time purchase of a Google Chromecast which connects to HDMI might help you watch things via streaming.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.