Poetically Speaking: On a Pink Moon by Ada Limon

On a Pink Moon

I take out my anger
And lay its shadow

On the stone I rolled
Over what broke me.

I plant three seeds
As a spell. One

For what will grow
Like air around us,

One for what will
Nourish and feed,

One for what will
Cling and remind me–

We are the weeds.

***

Ada Limón is a widely known poet whose work straddles the line between being known both in writerly circles (thanks to her numerous accolades and awards) and more broadly (thanks to social media).

You can find and buy her books on Bookshop.org

Limón is one of those interesting poets whose work you might have already stumbled across online browsing for poetry but whose work has also received a fair bit of critical acclaim and numerous awards. Like a lot of the authors, it’s hard for me to pick just one poem to share but after much deliberation I think On a Pink Moon is a great introduction to her work. On a Pink Moon appears in Limón’s collection The Carrying.

I’ve featured a few of Limon’s poems and love them all for different reasons. In this one I really love all of the imagery and the way the poem tells a story drawing you in before the almost abrupt ending that widens the story from a micro view of the narrator back to a more macro view of the world.

Check back every Friday in April for a new Poetically Speaking post. Until then, you can also browse older posts (and guest posts) for more poetry.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.