Banned Books Week Blind Book Display

Banned Books Week is a week-long event to raise awareness about the dangers of banning or challenging books as well as to celebrate the intellectual freedom that people enjoy by reading books and having books available in their libraries or schools.

Banned Books Week runs from September 27 to October 3 this year.

If you want to know more you can visit BannedBooks.Org. The American Library Association also has a handy Banned Books Week landing page with a lot more information. School Library Journal also has compiled many useful resources.

This year for BBW I knew I wanted to do a blind display. I’ve seen other librarians make displays covering books with paper bags and listing the reasons they were banned or challenged. (The Lorax is always an interesting one for this since it is sighted as promoting eco-terrorism and being anti-industry sometimes.)

I wanted to streamline the process (because restocking my Blind Date with a Book display got to be a bit tedious last February) so I went a little simpler. I made a few graphics with a “banned” stamp and some of the top reasons books are banned or challenged in libraries.

Here’s what that looked like:

IMG_0293

Like my Blind Date with a Book display, these books are all wrapped in such a way that they are still scannable at check out and easily unwrapped if someone needs the book.

I also have a poster board I use for displays so I made a sign with some text background and Banned Books Week information:

IMG_0294Part of the sign is a little hard to read because I didn’t make the background opaque enough when I made the sign in PicMonkey but I kind of like that because it seems fitting with what Banned Books Week is all about.

After that I put everything together and installed the display.

IMG_0329Reasons listed include: nudity, sexually explicit, anti-family, controversial, unsuited to age group, drugs/alcohol/smoking and offensive language.

Here’s a closer view of the display:

IMG_0330How are you exercising your right to read this Banned Books Week? Does your library have any cool displays for Banned Books Week this year? Are you featuring Banned Books Week content on your blog?

Let me know in the comments!

9 thoughts on “Banned Books Week Blind Book Display

  1. Emma, how did you make them scannable? Do you guys have RFID? Whenever I do a covered book display I have to sit there with an X-acto knife and carefully cut out around the barcode.

    And your display looks awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!

      My department doesn’t do check out (circulation is in a different part of the building even) so I did have to make barcodes immediately visible. The books are “wrapped” but the top is open and I cut out or fold over the paper that would otherwise cover the barcode. I show that more in my Blind Date with a Book display post but I’ll tweet you too!

      Like

  2. Love your display! Very creative :) I like Banned Book week because it raises awareness! I’m always curious to see what books get banned because it makes me want to read them even more! I’m going to the library tonight so will see if they have any cool displays but I don’t think they can top yours :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.