Top Fives: Simon and Schuster Fall 2019 Preview #sskidspreview

Here are my top fives from Simon and Schuster’s Fall 2019 preview for librarians and educators.

If you want to see all of the tweets from the preview, you can check out of the #sskidspreview tag on twitter. (You can also find all of my tweets from the preview too!)

Here are the top five titles I’m excited about from the preview:

Picture Books

  1. People Share With People by Lisa Wheeler, illustrated by Molly Idle: Lisa Wheeler and Molly Idle are back with a companion to People Don’t Bite People. Another delightful rhyming book—this time all about sharing. Publishing in September.
  2. Dancing Hands by Margarita Engle, illustrated by Rafael Lopez: The team behind Drum Dream Girl is back with this picture book about piano prodigy Teresa Carreño and the moment when she played for Abraham Lincoln. Publishing in August.
  3. Spencer’s New Pet by Jessie Sima: I didn’t think I could love Jessie Sima

    more. Then I read this picture book about Spencer and his new pet. An almost wordless picture book in the style of classic silent films. Publishing in August.
  4. Infinite Hope by Ashley Bryan: In this picture book memoir Bryan shares his experiences serving in WWII in the segregated army. This book shines a light on the shameful treatment of black soldiers during this time. Includes sketches Bryan sent home to his parents during his time overseas and bright spots that kept him going. Publishing in October.
  5. Amy Wu and the Perfect Bao by Kat Zhang, illustrated by Charlene Chua: Can Amy Wu rise to the occasion and make the perfect bao? Publishing in October.

Middle Grade

  1. Roll With It by Jamie Sumner: Ellie’s carefully ordered world is thrown into chaos when she and her mom move to take care of her ailing grandfather. Can she find her place, pursue her celebrity chef aspirations, and find people ready to see Ellie for herself and not just her wheelchair? Publishing in October.
  2. The Okay Witch by Emma Steinkellner: Oh hey it’s my favorite graphic novel of the year. You need this story about witches, family, and love. Publishing in September.
  3. The Green Children of Woolpit by J. Anderson Coats: New historical fantasy inspired by the story of the Green Children. Deliciously creepy and perfect for fans of The Doll Bones or Coraline. Publishing in September.
  4. The Class by Frances O’Roark: Twenty kids. Twenty points of view. One sixth grade class dealing with a new girl who might be a spy, classroom theft, a classmate who shouldn’t be a classmate at all, and all of those awkward moments where it feels like everything is changing. Publishing in October.
  5. Oh, Rats! by Tor Seidler: What happens when the most sought after squirrel in New Jersey is kidnapped by a hawk and unceremoniously dropped in New York City? Publishing in August.

Young Adult

  1. Winterwood by Shea Earnshaw: I was all set to write down a pithy pitch for this one, but then I started hearing the comps and lost all my chill. Practical Magic meets The Sixth Sense?! Comps to Caraval and The Hazel Wood?! I’m ordering this one now. Publishing in November.
  2. Our Wayward Fate by Gloria Chao: Swoony romance, juicy family drama, and a story about communication breakdowns within a family. I don’t know about you but I can’t wait to check out Chao’s sophomore novel. Publishing in October.
  3. Slay by Brittney Morris: I’m not even going to try to paraphrase this pitch: Ready Player One meets The Hate U Give with a teen game developer defending her Black Panther-inspired game and the safe community it offers Black gamers. Publishing in September.
  4. The Lady Rogue by Jenn Bennett: Historical fantasy where one girl has to race to hunt down Vlad the Impaler’s cursed ring to save her father. Publishing in September.
  5. Songs From the Deep by Kelly Powell: YA debut set on an island where sirens live under the sea and a killer lurks in this combo fantasy and murder mystery. Publishing in November.

Let me know if any of these were already on your radar or if this post helped you find some new titles for your to read list!