Top Fives: Macmillan Fall 2018 #MacKidsPreview

Macmillan hosted their Fall 2017 Librarian and Educator Preview on May 2. Below you can find my Top Fives from the preview. You can also check the #mackidspreview hashtag on Twitter and see my tweets from the preview for even more titles.

Picture Books

  1. So Tall Within: Sojourner Truth’s Long Walk Toward Freedom by Gary D. Schmidt and Daniel Minter: Picture book biography about Sojourner Truth with Schmidt’s poetic, lyrical text and stunning illustrations from Minter working in a new fine arts style. I got to read an early galley of this one and it’s absolutely gorgeous. September 2018.
  2. Carlos Santana: Sound of the Heart, Voice of the World by Gary Golio and Rudy Gutierrez: I think this is going to be a very smoooooooooooth picture book biography! I’m not even sorry for the pun because the illustrator also designed the album artwork for Shaman. So. September 2018.
  3. Lucy Fell Down the Mountain by Kevin Cornell: Lucy’s day starts with a fall down a mountain and gets worse from there in this cumulative tale that might be a good company for Judith Viorst’s Alexander and Brosgol’s Leave Me Alone. October 2018.
  4. King Alice by Matthew Cornell: What do you do on a snow day? If you’re Alice you recruit your dad to write a book detailing the exploits of King Alice and her knight princesses. September 2018.
  5. The Case of the Missing Chalk Drawings by Richard Byrne: Bright graphic art dominates this kid friendly mystery with a procedural vibe. Perfect for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit. November 2018.

Middle Grade

  1. Thundercluck by Paul Tillery and Meg Witter: Part Norse mythology, part adventure, 100% all natural chicken. September 2018.
  2. Nowhere Boy by Katherine Marsh: A timely story of two very different boys—one from DC and one from Aleppo—stranded in Brussels at the peak of the refugee crisis in 2015 and the friendship that forms between them. September 2018.
  3. The Train to Impossible Places by P. G. Bell: A sparkling fantasy debut and series starter follows Susie when she sneaks on the impossible (troll operated) postal train and becomes deputy post master.
  4. Snazzy Cat Capers by Deanna Kent and Neil Hooson: The launch of a heist-filled adventure series with Ophelia—a cat burglar who is actually a cat. September 2018.
  5. Wonderland by Barbara O’Connor: Two unlikely friends, one runaway dog. One friendship story perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Kate DiCamilo. August 28.

Young Adult

  1. Blanca and Roja by Anna-Marie McLemore: New magical fantasy with elements of Rose Red, Snow White, and Swan Lake. I can’t wait! October 2018.
  2. Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens edited by Marieke Nijkamp: A short story collection that explores intersection diversity (both among the characters an authors) in stories starring disabled teens from both new and established voices including Dhonielle Clayton, Heidi Heilig, Karuna Riazi, among others. September 2018.
  3. Black Wings Beating by Alex London: New YA Fantasy and series starter featuring savage falconry and elements reminiscent of Graceling. October 2018.
  4. Unclaimed Baggage by Jen Doll: What happens to lost luggage? It gets sold in stores like Unclaimed Baggage where three misfit teens seeking work and refuge gravitate for the summer. September 2018.
  5. A Blade So Black by L. L. McKinney: An Alice in Wonderland retelling set in modern Atlanta with Buffy vibes. September 25.
  6. The Boneless Mercies by April Genevieve Tucholke: A dark fantasy retelling of Beowulf. Standalone. October 2018.

2 thoughts on “Top Fives: Macmillan Fall 2018 #MacKidsPreview

  1. These all sound so good! I’ll have to get a copy of The Train to Impossible Places when it comes out — it sounds so cute. Thanks for highlighting these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.