Top Fives: HarperCollins Fall 2017 #HarperPreview

On May 12 HarperCollins hosted their Fally 2017 Librarian and Educator Preview to highlight upcoming titles from all of their imprints. Below you can find my Top Fives from the event. You can also check out #harperpreview and @harperstacks on Twitter for even more.

Picture Books:

  1. A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars by Seth Fishman, illustrated by Isabel Greenberg: This non-fiction picture book quantifies the world starting with the universe (and those stars) before narrowing in on the Earth, the house, and the reader. Includes helpful pronunciations for those large numbers and beautiful artwork. Coming in September.
  2. On a Magical Do-Nothing Day by Beatrice Alemagna: What happens when a boy drops his electronic game in a puddle and ventures outside? Turns out, a lot in this vibrantly illustrated picture book. Coming September 2017.
  3. The Bad Seed by Jory John, illustrated by Pete Oswald: He used to be a good seed. Then he was picked, bagged, and spit out by a giant. The experience left him angry. And bad. Until . . . it doesn’t. A charming picture book about turning things around. Coming August 2017.
  4. Bloom: A Story of Fashion Designer Elsa Schiaparelli by Kyo Maclear, illustrated by Julie Morstad: This house favorite is a colorful and charming picture book biography of the well-known fashion designer. Coming March 2018.
  5. Love, Triangle by Marcie Colleen, illustrated by Bob Shea: Marcie Colleen is the author of one of my favorite young reader series (Super Happy Party Bears). her picture book debut is inspired by a Cassandra Clare panel on love triangles in YA. It’s a charming story about making a three-person friendship work with introductions to many shape concepts (and puns). Coming October 2017.

Middle Grade:

  1. The Crims by Katie Davies: When the world’s most inept crime family is framed for a masterful heist it’s up to Imogen–the one promising criminal of this clan–to clear the family name. December 2017.
  2. Sisters of Glass by Naomi Cyprus: Powerless Halan is a princess in the Magi Kingdom where magic is everywhere. Halan is a glassblower’s daughter trying to hide her magic in New Hadar where magic is outlawed. When the two girls meet each other through a magical mirror they’ll have to work together to save both of their worlds. November 2017.
  3. 11 Before 12 by Lisa Greenwald: Two best friends make a list of the 11 things they have to do before turning 12 in this fun read perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass. First in a duology. Coming August 2017.
  4. Spirit Hunters by Ellen Oh: A girl has to stop a dark spirit from haunting her brother in this spooky mystery perfect for fans of Doll Bones. First in a duology. Coming July 2017.
  5. The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid by Colin Meloy, illustrated by Carson Ellis: Marseille, 1961. School of Seven Bells for pickpockets. Coming October 2017.

Young Adult:

  1. Nothing by Annie Barrows: Barrows makes her YA debut with this novel inspired by her now-teen daughters requesting she write a book that reflects the reality of their teenaged lives where nothing ever happens. Or does it? September 2017.
  2. Far From the Tree by Robin Benway: Three siblings given up for adoption when they were born find each other in this house favorite being compared to the show This is Us. Coming October 2017.
  3. The Gallery of Unfinished Girls by Lauren Karcz: This debut novel filled with magic realism and art is being pitched as the end result if a book like I’ll Give You the Sun was written by an author like Nova Ren Suma. Coming July 2017.
  4. Three Sides of a Heart edited by Natalie C. Parker: Parker edits this anthology with cross-genre stories featuring love triangles from a wide range of authors including Garth Nix, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Brandy Colbert, and Julie Murphy among others. Coming December 2017.
  5. This is How it Happened by Paula Stokes: When Genevieve wakes up from a coma she knows that she and her boyfriend Dallas were in a car accident. She knows that Dallas–a Youtube sensation whose star was on the rise–is dead. But as social media spirals out of control in the aftermath of the accident, Genevieve starts to realize that she still may not know the truth. Coming July 2017.
  6. The Grave Keepers by Elizabeth Byrne: Athena Windham’s family own a cemetery in upstate New York in this world almost like ours where young people are encouraged to treat their graves as a second home. Athena doesn’t know much outside of her family’s world thanks to her protective parents but now with a ghost haunting the property and a runaway hiding in the cemetery, Athena’s world is about to get a lot bigger. Coming September 2017.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s