Blog Tour: SPY ON HISTORY: Mary Bowser and the Civil War Spy Ring

mary-bowser-blog-tour-bannerToday I’m joining Workman’s blog tour for the first book in their Spy on History series.

Spy on History: Mary Bowser and the Civil War Spy RingSpy on History: Mary Bowser and the Civil War Spy Ring (2017) by Enigma Alberti, illustrated by Tony Cliff is an adventure based on the true story of Mary Bowser, a freed slave who became a spy for the Union and worked undercover as a maid for Jefferson Davis to gather Confederate secrets.

Mary pretended to be illiterate but in reality her photographic memory was as much of an asset to her spying as her ability to skillfully avoid discovery. In addition to detailing Mary’s life as a spy, the book is filled with lots of details about Mary’s spycraft techniques including ciphers, codes, and even the language of flowers. Hidden clues and secrets in the text of the book wait to be revealed by the reader and answer the question of where Mary hid her secret diary.

For the blog tour, I was asked to answer a simple question:

“If you could go back to any time or place in history, where would you put your spy skills to use?”

My answer for any time travel question is the same: I don’t want to travel anywhere else. While I love the idea of time and learning about the past–I prefer to engage with both from the comfort of my own home in the present. After all, you never know when a time machine might break down or a passage to the past might collapse. And then were are you? Likely trapped in an era without modern conveniences like medicine and antibiotics, running water, or electricity! I know my limitations and while I enjoy being an amateur spy in my own time, I also am well aware I would not be at my best in any period in the past.

Now that we’ve established where I would (not) time travel, I have a question for you and answering it will enter you in my giveaway:

Where would YOU visit in the past if time travel were possible?

 

***Tell me where you’d visit in the past in the comments to enter my giveaway.***

I’ll pick one winner from the comments to receive a Workman prize pack for a bundle of books including Spy on History, Who Wins?, and Boss Babes.

Giveaway is US only and ends February 12. Winner will be notified February 13. Be sure to comment to enter!