Week in Review: February 4 and Thinking about the little things

missprintweekreviewThis week on the blog you can check out:

Still feeling sick and have decided that it really was a case of a (mild) flu and not a terrible cold. I feel like one day I will feel one hundred percent healthy but it feels far off right now.

No pictures yet but this week I put up my annual Blind Date with a Book Display at work and I really love how it turned out. We also had a small office party which was fun.

The day of the office party, I was talking to one of my coworkers from a different department. I don’t remember how it came up but she told me she was talking to a mutual colleague we had and they both started talking about how they don’t make librarians like me anymore and even called me a librarian’s librarian. I will leave people who know me professionally to evaluate those statements on their own. But it was nice to hear. It was a little thing that meant a lot and really put a smile on my face.

Later that day a girl was in the library with her father and brothers. She seemed excited to get new books and she was writing a piece for our interactive display. She also had a Pikachu backpack and it was amazing. This girl also had her hair dyed rainbow colors. I love the idea of crazy colored hair but I’m too much of a wimp to do it myself. As she was leaving, I told her “I love your hair.” Again, it was another small thing. But her face lit up with the compliment and she sounded so delighted when she thanked me. When I told my mom about it, she pointed out how easy it can be to make other people happy. All in all, it was a nice reminder of why I try to give compliments freely when I have them.

This week I finished Caraval and I read Wildlife by Fiona Wood–the last book I had to read by Wood (until she writes more). I also started re-reading Megan Whalen Turner’s books. I also have started reserving copies of DeathNote from the library. Now that I have read Library Wars and Sailor Moon in their entirety, DeathNote seemed like a good new manga project to read as a palate cleanser between other titles.

Here’s my latest from Instagram:

Two parts of my day here. I finally felt healthy enough to read on my commute and lunch hour at work so I'm diving back into Caraval. Now that I am no longer in the throes of my illness, it's picking up and I'm enjoying it. I like that Scarlett seems to have a form of synesthesia in the way her feelings equate with colors. And I I really like that the colors Garber mentions early on describing Scarlett's arrival in Caraval are referenced in the cover artwork. 🦄 This afternoon I also led a weekly makerspace program for teens. The teens made tangle free headphones while I started this piece of macrame which will either be a bracelet or bookmark depending on how it turns out. It was nice to have a program mellow enough that I had time to make something myself instead of just supervising! 🦄 Who's read Caraval as an ARC? Who's excited for the official publication in a few days? Who does macrame? Let's talk. 🦄 #bookstagram #bookishfeatures #goodreads #instabook #instareads #igreads #booknerd #bibliophile #books #reading #currentlyreading #amreading #bookworm #bookish #bookgram #bookaddict

A post shared by Emma (@missprint_) on

If you you want to see how my month in reading is shaking out be sure to check out my February Reading Tracker.

How was your week? What are you reading? Let’s talk in the comments.

