Week in Review: January 1 and 2017 Resolutions

missprintweekreviewThis week on the blog you can check out:

We made it guys. I know it was a hard year for a lot of people and I know that a lot of things are uncertain but the earth kept spinning, we kept moving, and if you’re reading this, you made it all the way through. That, if nothing else, is something worth celebrating.

You still have time to enter my giveaway for a copy of Pick Me Up by Adam J. Kurtz which is a great book to fill out to find ways to encourage yourself and move forward.

Here are four things I’m going to work on in 2017:

  1. I want to be intentional with my actions. In 2016 I was mindful. This year I want to focus on intentions. I want to be kind and thoughtful. I also want to make smart decisions and continue to be the best version of myself. On a very small scale that is manifesting in a plan to shift to cruelty free cosmetics which is still in the early stages. Other plans to come.
  2. I want to use what I already have. I buy too many books and too many things. I want 2017 to be the year I really take stock of what I have and appreciate it. It’s been a while since I first turned to KonMari for organizing my life and I think it’s time to start again. I think my BEA days are over (my shoulders are already thanking me) and I want to continue drilling down through the books I own and getting my to read pile back to a pile instead of a bookcase.
  3. I want to create. This is a holdover from last year but I was thinking about when I stopped really making art or drawing in high school (after my art teacher refused to let me into her AP Art class–yes, I’m still angry) and I don’t want anyone to have that power over me. Also I miss it. I want 2017 to be the year that I work on making something every day whether that’s a thoughtful Instagram post, a poem, a sentence in my novel, or a drawing.
  4. In 2017 you might hear a lot about my idea for a bestselling organization book. It’s going to be 100 pages and every page is going to say the same thing: Put things away once you are finished with them. I have been trying to be intentional (see what I did there?) about doing that since December started and plan to continue in this new year.

Now that I’m done sharing Christmas displays, you might also start seeing more Bookstagram on my Instagram again. Right now I’m super excited about Wayfarer–watch for my review next week.

"All of us have had to come to terms with the fact that our loyalty is to time itself. It's our inheritance, our nation, our history." ๐Ÿ”ฎ ๐Ÿ”ฎ ๐Ÿ”ฎ "We can live in the past, but we cannot dwell there." ๐Ÿ”ฎ ๐Ÿ”ฎ ๐Ÿ”ฎ Thanks to @alexbracken I was lucky enough to read Wayfarer early as an arc. My review will be posting on release day next week but it was too pretty to not take a photo for Instagram. ๐Ÿ”ฎ ๐Ÿ”ฎ ๐Ÿ”ฎ Nicholas and Etta have faced impossible odds and the unique problems of time travel before. But now they are separated across time and continents with the hunt for the astrolabe becoming more urgent. As they search for each other both Etta and Nicholas will have to grapple with the implications of destroying the astrolabe–or using it themselves. As the hunt becomes more urgent Etta, Nicholas, their allies, and even their foes will realize that even travelers never seem to have enough time. Wayfarer is a sensational conclusion to an excellent time travel duology. Start with Passenger and watch for Wayfarer next week! #bookstagram #bookishfeatures #goodreads #instabook #instareads #igreads #booknerd #bibliophile #books #reading #currentlyreading #amreading #bookworm #bookish #bookgram #bookaddict #readwayfarer #wayfarer

A post shared by Emma (@missprint_) on

If you you want to see how my month in reading is shaking out be sure to check out my January Reading Tracker and my 2016 Reading Tracker Year in Review.

How was your week? What are some good things that happened in 2016? What are your hopes and dreams for 2017? Let’s talk in the comments.

4 thoughts on “Week in Review: January 1 and 2017 Resolutions

  1. I am also trying to take stock of what I have and de-clutter my life. Too many books and things that I don’t use! I think these are great goals to focus on in the coming year. Good luck with them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, these are such lovely goals! I think they are really good too, for all of us to keep in mind. While I am sad that your BEA days are over (even though let’s be real, mine probably are too), I know what you mean. It’s like.. we just keep accumulating “stuff”- at what point do we have to say “enough”, you know? And you absolutely should create- and I don’t blame you for still being salty about that “teacher”- I use the term loosely, because what actual teacher would be like that, ugh?

    And I am glad we made it through 2016, somehow. Though every day, I fear for this year. My biggest goal is just… to somehow make it through, and hope that we ALL make it through, as best we can. Kindness and being smart and our best selves is such a great way to do that. Lovely, lovely post, my dear! Wishing you all the best in 2017!

    Like

Leave a Reply

