This Month at Teen Services Underground: Maker Kits in the Library

In addition to the blogging I’ve been doing at YALSA’s Hub, I also am a volunteer agent at Teen Services Underground so if you read TSU’s Ask an Agent posts you may occasionally see me sharing tips, tricks, and thoughts on various things (like some programming ideas for Banned Books Week).

More to the point: I have a guest post there that posted earlier this month on Maker Kits:

What are Maker Kits?

Maker Kits are low-cost, versatile materials for open-ended creating put together in one container around a themed craft. Each kit filled with supplies that are easy to use with minimal supervision if not entirely self-directed. I used Ziploc Big Bags to house my kits but storage bins or some other container option would work just as well. The main thing is they should be mobile–don’t just dedicate a cabinet shelf to all the designated supplies.

You can read more about them and how I’m using the kits in library programming over at my TSU guest post.

Leave a Reply

