Tell Me What to Read Next for the Make Me Read It Read-a-Thon (#MakeMeRead)

I was inspired by Val’s post about the Make Me Read It Read-a-thon and decided to sign up.

Here’s an explanation of how it works from Val’s co-host Ely:

  1. Look at the books you own, either physical, e-book or ones you’ve borrowed from the library and pick out a few you really want to read, or feel like you should read. It’s up to you how many you pick, personally I’d pick a few more than you expect to be able to read in a week. Example: if you think you’ll only read two, pick out five books or if you think you can read seven, pick out ten.
  2. Make a list of these books on your blog, or make a video, or a Goodreads shelf or post a picture on Instagram—whatever is easiest for you. Then get friends, other bloggers/booktubers etc. to vote on which books you HAVE to read.
  3. When the read-a-thon comes along, you read the books in the order of most votes. For example, if one book gets 10 votes—you read that first, then the one that got 7 and so on. If there’s a tie, then it’s your preference. The goal is to read as many as possible.

If you want to sign up yourself, details are here: http://www.teaandtitles.com/make-me-read-it-read-a-thon-2016-edition/

Now, I don’t know if I’ll have time to do an actual read-a-thon from July 9th to the 16th. BUT I will order my reading for July based on poll results and post about progress in my July Reading Tracker (see what I mean by checking out my June Reading Tracker). You have until June 30 to vote and decide my reading fate!

So, here are the choices:

makemereadit

  1. The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge (1)
  2. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake (3)
  3. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson (5)
  4. The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee (2)
  5. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson (4)
  6. Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton (2)
  7. Everland by Wendy Spinale (3)
  8. A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody (2)
  9. This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith (1)

You can vote by leaving a comment with your choice (or top two or three, whatever). I’ll accept comments/votes until June 30 and I’ll post the ranked list (AKA my reading order for July) on the first.

14 thoughts on “Tell Me What to Read Next for the Make Me Read It Read-a-Thon (#MakeMeRead)

  1. OH YAY. I saw you posted this earlier (yesterday I think) but it must have been a mistake because the link from feedly was broken. BUT HERE IT IS AGAIN.

    Here are my votes 😊

    1: Kiss of Deception, because I loved it
    2. The Sky is Everywhere, because I want to read it, so you should tell me how it goes when you get to it
    3. Everland, because I’m going to read that soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure if it’s me or WordPress, but I tried to make an actual poll yesterday and it just would not work (which I only realized after publishing the post of course). Thanks for voting and sharing your rationale ;)

      Like

    1. Thanks Nicole! I’m pretty excited about both (even just from the covers lol) so I’m glad they’re getting up voted here ;)

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.