Dynamic Duos Book Display

For my December display I decided to be a little more vague with theme so that it could stay up as long as I needed it to. I knew a winter-y display wasn’t going to work with the collection because we don’t have enough winter books that actually stay on the shelves so I decided to go in a completely different direction.

IMG_1755As you can see this display is all about dynamic duos in books (friends or romantic) and was once again made with PicMonkey.

The hardest part here was decided which books to use in the display but I knew I wanted a mix of boys and girls as well as romantic and platonic duos. I also knew that I wanted to be diverse in my selections (you can’t quite tell from the covers but both of the books on the right side have PoC narrators).

After thinking about the books I love I narrowed it down to:

IMG_1756Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (my biggest challenge with this one was trying to not include the character names in the graphic since my trivia element asks people to identify the duo)

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (this is actually the book that inspired the entire idea for the display)

IMG_1757Dust Girl by Sarah Zettel

Proxy by Alex London

Here’s a close up of the trivia graphic:

IMG_1758

I couldn’t be happier with this display. It’s exactly what I envisioned and I think it’s a lot of fun and a nice combination of somewhat well-known titles and lesser known ones. I also have a lot of freedom with the books I choose to display with it. Best of all, if I decided to recycle the idea later on, I can pick new books and it will be a totally fresh display.

I also decided to have a little fun this month and tweet the authors to let them know that their books were featured in a display which seemed to amuse all of them. It’s always nice to remind people (author’s or not) that their work is being appreciated.

3 thoughts on “Dynamic Duos Book Display

Leave a Reply

