Home » Chit Chat » In which I post for the thousandth time (and share another poem I wrote–this time with an art history angle!)

In which I post for the thousandth time (and share another poem I wrote–this time with an art history angle!)

So. This is my 1000th post here on Miss Print!

Since I actually noticed the milestone I figured it was a fine one to mark.

And since I’m on a poetry kick, it seemed like a fine one to mark with another poem I wrote. Since this is a milestone marking the passing of time, I decided to share a poem I wrote in 2008 about dying. This is inspired by an art history motif (momento mori) that reminds people death is unavoidable. I always liked the way the name sounds and the fresco in the poem made an impression when I learned about it in my Renaissance art class. I also liked the inscription and how it sounded so I decided to write a poem around it. And this might sound incredibly self-centered but it’s a poem I think about a lot. I really like it. I hope you do too.

Here it is:

Memento Mori

 

In 1428 Masaccio made a fresco for a Florentine church.

At the bottom of the picture

beneath the Holy Trinity

he put a skeleton illusionistically painted as though within a tomb.

An inscription above the would-be tomb reads:

“I was once what you are,

and what I am you will become.”

We are so fragile.

But no one seems to notice,

living with eyes half closed.

Pretending that a life so brief is time enough.

(This poem is an original work by me. Copyrighted. Please don’t steal it.)

Leave a Reply

