Home » Chit Chat » “So this is the new year. I have no resolutions.”

“So this is the new year. I have no resolutions.”

I meant to post this closer to the new year, but I suppose the sentiments remain true even if they are not posted on schedule.

I don’t believe in making new year’s resolutions. A new calendar doesn’t necessarily mean it’s time to change things, and even if it did, resolutions just aren’t my style. I just don’t like them.

I like setting goals. I like having hopes. I like making wishes. Those are what I do instead of resoluting things.

My reading goal for 2012 is 100 books. If I hit that before the year is out, I’ll raise it. It is the only concrete goal I have for 2012.

It feels weird, still, to be living in 2012–a year that sounds like something out of a futuristic sci-fi novel–and it feels even weirder to be living in that year as an adult when I still feel like I’m doing everything wrong in that arena and there are so many things I need to fix as soon as I possibly can.

I know how I need this year to go, but I don’t know that resolutions or goals will help things go my way. Instead, I just want to be happy this year. I want to be well. I want to be creative. I want to get the things I need even if they may not be the things I thought I would have at this point. And I want to be present in every moment.

2012 is just starting and, if I can help it, I don’t want to miss anything good.

What about you, dear readers? What do you hope 2012 has in store for you?

2 thoughts on ““So this is the new year. I have no resolutions.”

  1. Thank you for recommending liar to me. I have been rivited. I just got to the “spoiler” OMG.
    I was really into the story before finding out about Micha’s complications I cant wait to find out what happens next.
    Do you know of any websites with discussions sorted by where in the book you have read so far?

Leave a Reply

