The Best Brownies in the World

I am going to tell you a secret. *looks around* But you have to promise not to tell anyone, okay?

So at my first place of employ I got a bit of a reputation as a baker. My signature dish (is it still a dish when it’s not a meal and made in a pan?) was brownies that were, universally, declared the best brownies in the world by all of my coworkers.

One well-meaning coworker declared by baking skills “husband catching ready”. (To be fair another coworker did say he’d marry me after tasting one . . . but he was joking, obviously. It wasn’t even the coworker who later agreed baking was a valuable skill to have.)

Anyway, everyone loved the brownies to the point that I brought them to most work parties (except for that one time) and even once made some as a birthday gift for a coworker at her request.

Here’s the deep dark secret, are you ready?

They were mix brownies.

Say what you will but Duncan Hines Premium Chewy Fudge Brownie Mix. I follow the recipe to make cake like brownies. And. They. Are. Awesome. (I love brownies so I have tried a lot and I can say in all honestly, the ones I make from this mix are the best.)

I realize this has nothing to do with the general focus of the blog or anything else really, but I felt like sharing. If you also feel like sharing why not leave a deep, dark baking secret in the comments?